Skip to main content
The Brighter Futures Indiana Data Center offers data related to population, economy, supply and demand.

Data Center

The Brighter Futures Indiana Data Center offers data related to population, economy, supply and demand.

Visit our Data Center
Brighter Futures Logo

Recognized Quality - Paths to QUALITY

With so many different options for your child, how do you find the best fit for you?

Circle 14

Start with Paths to QUALITY™, Indiana’s quality rating and improvement system for child care. It is a free resource that helps families make informed decisions — and helps early education providers improve program quality.

Paths to QUALITY:

  • Provides a simple system to help you identify the level of care a program offers, from basic health and safety standards at Level 1 to the highest standards for early care and education with National Accreditation at Level 4
  • Assures you that your child will be healthy, safe, and learning
  • Helps you locate the right program for your child

All programs participating in Paths to QUALITY:

  • Have made a voluntary commitment to improve the quality of child care and early education they provide
  • Meet standards designed to support your child’s healthy growth and development
  • Are visited annually to verify the level of care and education they are providing
  • Receive coaching and incentives as they advance through the levels of Quality

Paths to QUALITY Levels

PTQ levels 01 612x499

Participation in the program is voluntary, but all Paths to QUALITY programs meet basic health and safety standards. When programs do more to support learning, use a planned curriculum or reach national accreditation, they achieve a higher level rating.

Paths to QUALITY is a voluntary system. At each level, programs demonstrate greater quality. Read below to discover what Paths to QUALITY levels mean for your child and family.

Paths to QUALITY™ is Indiana’s statewide quality rating and improvement system for early care and education. It consists of four levels and each level builds on the foundation of the previous one. Providers start at Level 1 and work their way towards national accreditation at the highest level, Level 4. These advancements result in significant quality improvements at every level.

Level 4 Programs

Level 4 Programs have achieved the highest rating on Paths to QUALITY. They demonstrate a commitment to professionalism in quality early care and education by achieving a nationally recognized accreditation.

Level 3 Programs

Level 3 Programs use a curriculum that supports children’s learning and school readiness. Level 3 programs focus on the professional development of their staff. Additionally, they incorporate family and staff input into their program.

Level 2 Programs

Level 2 Programs demonstrate a commitment to improving the program quality. They offer environments that support children’s growth, development and learning. Level 2 programs have evidence of a consistent daily schedule, planned activities for children and sharing program information with families.

Level 1 Programs

Level 1 Programs have voluntarily chosen to be a part of Paths to QUALITY. This means they care about providing quality early care and education. These programs meet all basic health and safety standards.

Parents like you are having success with Paths to QUALITY™

"I never knew about Path to QUALITY and I was very impressed with their services. I got the list of providers within 24 hours of my contact with their office. My child is placed with a referred provider, he is doing well and I am very pleased."

Start your search!

Finding quality care is as easy as using our online referral form. All you do is provide information about your family’s needs and we will contact you with the best options in your area.